Musically Reading.

Elizabeth Peterson         Integrating Music Literacy to Help Struggling Readers          

“The more we listen, the more we enjoy. The more we read, the more we understand.” That was the quote Ms. Elizabeth Peterson used in one of her slides. The webinar that I attended was entitled Integrating Music Literacy to Help Struggling Readers. It was amazing because my schedule fit in this session. I am a music lover and I love to read and so, this session was perfect for me.

The clock ticked 11 and the session started. Ms. Melissa, her assistant introduced to us (the students) Ms. Elizabeth. Ms. Elizabeth is the host of the website www.theinspiredclassroom.com She is also the author of Inspired by Listening, which she had raffled at the end of the session. In her book, she tackled how music could be integrated in teaching different subjects.

The webinar started by Ms. Elizabeth asking a question how we are related to music. Most of the students answered that they are just music lovers. Then she went on to her lesson. She let us use the whiteboard, she asked us what music to us is and we freely answered it thru writing around the board. It was my first time to attend to a webinar and it was fun. Although I am not much of a listener and I get distracted easily, I really exerted effort to stay focused. And it was worth it! I learned about the parallel process between music and reading. Ever since pre-school, music was one of the agents in helping students learn. Who does not remember his/her nursery rhymes? She shared also the idea that music makes repetition painless. Another good point that she raised was the BME rule. Just like songs which have beginning, middle and ending so does a story. In the beginning the question would be “does it got the listener’s attention?”, the middle “does it tell a story?” and in the ending “does the ending wrap it up?” As the teacher introduces this kind of technique through music at first, it would be easier for students to do it in a story the next time. However, the music should not be complex but short and simple. Lastly, what I liked in the session was her insight about visualization. She said that “visualization is the key to comprehension.” Personally, I like it when I see a book that is done into a movie. I would watch the movie first then read the book after or vice versa. If I had read the book first, I would watch the movie then to figure out if my imagination is the same as to the director.

I enjoyed the webinar but I think it is better if she had played music as an example. This session is very informational although less interactive. Given a chance, I would love to attend in a webinar again.



 

Leave a Reply

